Arts and Culture Awards

Arts and Culture Awards Call for Nominations and Award Design
Posted on 06/30/2021

The City of Charlottetown has opened the call for nominations and call for award design for the 2021 Arts and Culture Awards, which will be held on Monday, October 25 at the Trailside Music Hall.

The Arts and Culture Awards, created by the Charlottetown Arts Advisory Board, are held in Charlottetown bi-annually and were designed to honour those who make a substantial contribution to the arts and cultural sector in Charlottetown. Awards are presented in the following categories: Emerging Artist Award; Artistic Excellence Award; Lifetime Achievement Award; Champion of the Arts.

The deadline to submit a nomination is 12:00 p.m. on Friday, August 27 and can be completed online at Individuals can be nominated by a peer, organization or self-nominate.

The selection of winners will be determined by an independent panel made up of past winners of the Arts and Culture Awards. The panel is chaired by one (non-voting) member of the Arts Advisory Board. Each award winner will receive a one-of-a-kind award created by a local artist. Award recipients in each category, aside from the Champion of the Arts Award, will also receive a cash prize.

The Arts Advisory Board is also seeking proposals for four awards to be presented during the Arts & Culture Awards Ceremony. The ideal award is locally hand crafted and a size that is suitable for presentation on stage and for display in the winners’ home or offices. Since the award will be presented to members of the artistic community, inventive submissions that diverge from traditional trophy design are encouraged. The maximum cost for each award is $200.00 ($800.00 Commission total).

The deadline to submit award design proposals is 12:00 p.m. on Friday, August 27. All proposals should be to the attention of The Arts Advisory Board c/o Charlotte Nicholson. Proposals can be dropped off at City Hall reception (199 Queen St.), emailed to [email protected], or mailed to PO Box 98, Charlottetown, PEI, C1A 7K2.

The Charlottetown Arts Advisory Board oversees the administration of the awards. The board members are: Barbara MacLeod, Chair; Cheryl Wagner; Mark Sandiford; Brandon Hood; Jennifer Campbell; and Stephen MacInnis.

For more information on the Charlottetown Arts and Culture Awards or to access the online nomination form, visit