Charlottetown City Council Inaugural Meeting

Charlottetown City Council Inaugural Meeting of the 2022 to 2026 Term
Posted on 12/08/2022

On Tuesday, December 6, the City of Charlottetown held its inaugural Council meeting. The Mayor and 10 Councillors were officially sworn in for the 2022 to 2026 term of Charlottetown City Council.

Philip Brown was sworn in as the City’s 46th Mayor and returns for a second term. In his address, Mayor Brown shared his excitement and highlighted teamwork, transparency and accountability as his priorities for the new term of Council.

“I am pleased and grateful to be returning as Mayor and I fully appreciate the challenges and opportunities of representing an historic capital city and a growing community,” said Mayor Brown. “As one of my first initiatives, I want to work directly with the community to deliver on the City’s commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI).”

“Working together, the goal is to develop an EDI Framework that serves as a roadmap for building an inclusive community that celebrates diversity and creates a sense of belonging,” he added.

As part of Mayor Brown’s remarks, Ward 1 Councillor Alanna Jankov was announced as Deputy Mayor.

Members of Council
In addition to the Mayor, there are 10 Members of Council elected, one within each of the 10 wards.

  •  Ward 1: Alanna Jankov
  •  Ward 2: Justin Muttart
  • Ward 3: Norman Beck
  • Ward 4: Mitchell Tweel
  • Ward 5: Kevin Ramsay
  • Ward 6: Bob Doiron
  • Ward 7: John McAleer
  • Ward 8: Trevor MacKinnon
  • Ward 9: Julie McCabe
  • Ward 10: Terry Bernard

To learn more about Mayor Council, and to access contact information, visit

The first City Council meeting is on Thursday, December 8, 2022. Council meeting schedules, agendas and minutes are available online here.

As a reminder, both Committee and Council meetings are available via livestream at